Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
451 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,
This is a topic I've been trying to comprehend for some time. Perhaps some of you guys are as curious and perhaps, like me, alarmed. I'm not a professional car person, ie, I don't now or have I ever earned my living in that industry. Like many of you, I like cars, I like driving cars, and I admit, I like the adrenaline rush of driving fast. Since the VW diesel scandal may well have killed mainstream diesel adoption for the foreseeable future, I am increasingly concerned about the direction of this enormous industry. Is the IC engine dead? Are we to abandon a hundred years of technological innovation as well as attempts at developing synthetic fuels? It would appear that this is a real possibility. I was struck by a few articles in The New York Times today (November 8th, 2015). The first is by David Jolly, dated the 7th actually, "Despite Push for Cleaner Cars..." The first paragraph is indeed alarming: "As United Nations climate conferees meet near here, Eric Feunteun wishes everyone could agree: If the world is going to curb climate change, there is no choice but to stop driving cars that burn fossil fuels." Eric Feunteun is head of electric cars for Renault (Nissan) and as the Times points out not unbiased. Perhaps his comments were aimed at Toyota, which prefers hybrids (Prius), not surprisingly. The thrust of the article seems to be that China and India are unlikely to adopt electric cars anytime soon. (If fact, China is rumored to be developing a Volvo that runs on coal, but that is for domestic consumption only.) In the Science section, there is an article by Justin Gillis and Chris Buckley entitled "Period of Soaring Emissions May Be Ending..." The first paragraph reads in part: "Industrial emissions of greenhouse gases rose only slightly in 2014 and appear to be on track to decline in 2015..." And later, "The new figures suggest that there is a ch