Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just got my gb springs,and i am getting some cross drilled rotors (not sure what kind yet) brakes and i guess i'll paint or replace my calipers,and my cv axles but what else should i change while i have the front end apart ,thanks ....i am an average driver but i do drive fast but not stupid and i dont race so if that helps i'll take suggestions thanks again .you guys have been very very helpful with the passat owning experience i really appreciate it you guys rock :lol: :lol: :lol: i should add i have 109098 on my car

·
0 Posts
My suggestions

1. shock
2. control arms
3. bearings
4. pads
5. sway bar

-steve

·
Registered
11,542 Posts
With over 100K miles, new shocks are definately in order - what Inferno said^.

Also when upgrading to new rotors, get new hi-performance pads to go with them. Axxis, Mintex, Hawk come to mind but there are others that are recommended as well.

And why not drilled and slotted brakes? I prefer D/S over just drilled or just slotted brake because you get enhanced initial bite, shorter stopping distance, reduced brake fade and enhanced rotor life. Of course, you get those things with just drilled or slotted alone but I find the best combination of those attributes come with the D/Sed rotors.

·
Registered
5,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
S_Klass said:
With over 100K miles, new shocks are definately in order - what Inferno said^.

Also when upgrading to new rotors, get new hi-performance pads to go with them. Axxis, Mintex, Hawk come to mind but there are others that are recommended as well.

And why not drilled and slotted brakes? I prefer D/S over just drilled or just slotted brake because you get enhanced initial bite, shorter stopping distance, reduced brake fade and enhanced rotor life. Of course, you get those things with just drilled or slotted alone but I find the best combination of those attributes come with the D/Sed rotors.