Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have been a member of this forum for a while but have not posted as I have spent most of my time on the TDI forums as my two previous cars were TDI Jetta's. As my family has grown and my left foot has needed a rest, and most importantly, my desire for an open-cabin larger car got the best of me and I have put on my big-boy pants and purchased a 2003 Passat Wagon V6. Massive difference in fuel mileage but I love the way the Passat rides and it's an open cabin so it is substantially better for audio (I build custom speakers for a living). And of course massively larger than the Jetta's. I'm really digging it. :)

Here is my previous car:

And my most recent acquisition:

Soooo...after newly aquiring my 2003 Passat Wagon V6 I knew to immediately chanage the air filters, both cabin and air filters. Here is a picture of the air filters side-by-side. New MANN filter on the left.

Now the cabin filter weighed about 2x more than the new MANN cabin air filter because the other filter literally had that much crap in it - leaves, dirt, more dirt, etc.

Picture is of the air filters:

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
This morning I took my V6 Passat Wagon to Guy Roberts VW in Newton NC. Guy's shop has serviced both of my prior VW's (Jetta TDI's) and has always been super reasonable, performed excellent work, etc, so I will always continue to bring my VW's to his shop for any and all repairs. So anyway, I took my car into his shop this morning with the following list:

1) Inspect/change the timing belt. I did a CarFax and the timing belt replacement did not show up so I can only assume it has not been changed.
2) Full transmission service. I know the transmissions are a known problem, so I would like to extend the life of the transmission as long as possible.
3) Inspect the ball joints, tie rods, etc, for wear and change them if needed.