Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a college student with a 2000 1.8T passat with around 100k miles on it. well i have a whirling noise from the fromof my car. The exhaust manifold glows near the turbo,( i think) and has discoloration. I also am pretty sure i have a bad vavle cover gasket. and a bad water pump. Should i still go on my road trip and btw i have never had the timing belt done.
I will include some pics and vids with sudio of the noise at the following link

http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/magicmakings/2000 VW Passat/WornBelt.jpg
http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/magicmakings/2000 VW Passat/Valvegasket.jpg
http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/magicmakings/2000 VW Passat/Oildepositsfromofengine.jpg
http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/magicmakings/2000 VW Passat/Exhast.jpg
http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/magicmakings/2000 VW Passat/?action=view&current=Car1.flv

·
Registered
5,404 Posts
Get the damn car fixed.
Do the TB ASAP. It should have been done 30k ago. When it goes (and it will, soon), it will basically take the engine with it. Repair or replacement costs are well over $3k.
The Passat does not take well to any maintence neglect. Without attanetion, you won't have a functional car very soon.
Please, if you think takinga road trip in this condition is a good idea, sell it and buy a Toyota Camry. European cars, by thier nature, need someone to take care of them.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Question

I dont have much money and need the car and can fix almost anything is this sometihng i casn do myself by something i mean everything in the picturesa and movie

·
Registered
5,404 Posts
Replacing teh water pump is part of the TB job (along with tensioner, thermostat, pulley, etc)
It requires removing the bumper and is probably ~10hrs as a first time job. BTW, if teh bad WP seizes up it will breka the TB.