Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, i have a question..
This summer i might be going with a few of High School Buddies on a trip to Europe. Our "home base" will be London and from there we want to go to France, Germany and maybe places in the way (if we have time.. Dont want to rush, we want fun). We plan on using public transportation 2/3 of the time but we might want to rent a car for a day or two (Germany was the first place to come to my mind....)
And the guys have sort of named me the de facto driver of the group, first is that i dont drink (they will be drunk most of the time), i am a good driver, and i know how to work a stick since i have driven both stick cars and i have a Motorcycle. It also helps that in Germany I can speak the language a little since I took it in High School.

So now my question is about the laws, renting and etc for someone like me.. I am ONLY 19 years old (Oldest of the group I think is 20.. Maybe one of my friends might be 21 by that time.. Not sure)... And i am worried this might cause a problem since i am that young. I am fully insured state side for both cars and my bike and never been in a accident. But what should i expect if i want to rent a car there? Do i need a special licenses or will my CA Driving licenses be honor? How about insurance? What rates should we be expecting to be paying for renting? How about AAA’s International Driving Permit? Are they worth anything? I can take any of the help you guys can give me.
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,168 Posts