Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright Folks, This is my first time changing anything on my 2006 Passat 2.0t.

I've done searches and can't find this info anywhere.

Went with a pretty simple DD GPS/DVD/TV, Etc.

Install was pretty rudimentary, until I connected the wire Harness and just got a blue screen with the word "<-Car" in green letters.

In recent research I found that the Brake-In wire(Pink) had to be grounded (or technically be connected to the parking brake wire), I did connect the pink to the Black GND wire, but I need to re-check the connection as I used butt-connectors.

1) Is there anything else that I should worry about regarding the BRAKE-IN wire? I figure a ground is a ground and if I tie it into the Black GND wire I'd be fine.

2) The Stock HU has 2 antennas (One Pale yellow and one White). The Antenna Adapter that came with the only has one antenna slot. What is the purpose of the two, and are they both needed? Can I just use one with the current antenna adapter that I have, and is there any downside to this?

3)Steering wheel controls - I have a fear that I'm going to lose use of these. The unit that I'm installing has the connections for it, but there's nothing to connect them to. Is there a certain adapter that I would need?

I think that's it for now, I'm sure more questions will come up as time goes along. Any help and/or wisdom you guys/gals can impart would be GREATLY APPRECIATED.

Thanks,
Bravestar

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Thanks for moving to the Mobile Electronics forum! Definitely a NOOB move for me to post it in the B6 Garage. Just looking for a little help!:salute:

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Few updates below.

1) Is there anything else that I should worry about regarding the BRAKE-IN wire? I figure a ground is a ground and if I tie it into the Black GND wire I'd be fine.