Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I`ve toying with idea of De-Catting my V6.
I know there are no aftermarket pipes available to do this with the V6, but I know a company who will custom make them for me.

whats the opinion of the forum?
I know I`ll get better milage, and about 10% more power, but there must be a downside somwhere. :roll:

Danski.

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
Downside(s) - wont pass emissions, destroy the Earth.

Oh well right :lol:

Anyway i think there are people here who removed the cat and replaced it with a glasspack. Im not sure what i read. Maybe you can goto the muffler shop and have them just put some custom piping there.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Now i am no expert (far from it) but i think i remember hearing that it is legal to remove or get an aftermarket cat if and when your car reaches a certain age? Was this true or did i read it wrong or what (its all from memory as i cant seem to pull up anything relevant here nor from google.)

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
the irony is that some ass will take his off makeing a bunch of emmisons that make the rest of use have to complie with even stricter emmisions standards

why not get some high flow cats

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Yeah...alright, no need to start being insulting, I was asking for opinions, and any possible implications, I WASNT asking for a slagging off and being called names, and also said that I was TOYING with the idea, not that I`d actually done it.

So I`ll think twice in future before I ask a question or reply to somone elses...

...cheers for that then !

·
Registered
2,910 Posts
To be fair danski probably didn't think of all these consequences.
Didn't you read that...I thought that was nice.