Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Two problems... decided to start one thread for both.

First up... my cruise control has stopped working. I haven't done any diagnosis yet. Is there a fuse I could look for? If not, what's the next step?

Next... what's the best way to remove the front seat covers? I have a heated seat kit to install and I need to pull the seat bottom and seat back covers partially off to get them in place. It was super easy in my truck (Dodge RAM) but not sure about this thing.

Thanks!

Rob

·
Registered
1,921 Posts
Is your cruise switch set to on?

I had the same issue and I didn't have the switch on. I had unknowingly turned it off. Not saying you are but I was a newbie to the car when it happened.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Not sure what year/motor/trans you have, but the clutch switch and the brake switch will both prevent enabling cruise if they fail. Do your brake lights stay on, even when you're out of the car? Brake switch failed. Can you start your car without the clutch down, or does it continue to rev more than it used to when you go to change gears? Clutch switch failed.

·
Registered
4,817 Posts
The seat bench and back covers are secured by strips of plastic (~3/8" wide x ~16" long) sewn into the fabric.

For the seat back section, access this plastic strip by looking at the base on the rear side (about the point where it pivots) for a small gap. IIRC, the plastic section is sewn into the bottom edge of fabric. You'll need to tug/pull on the leather or cloth fabric a bit to determine which "edge" of the material has this plastic retainer strip. The strip fits into a hidden metal slot in the seat back frame.

Once you find it, carefully pull it out by hand and slowly remove the cover from the frame and cushion. The lumbar mech. is there as well if you need to replace it.