Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dont worry Thanasi Ill still be reppin the Kings and Giants :D

As some of you know Ive been working on music/songwriting career and I have made major contacts in the business that are encouraging me to move to LA to pursue it further. If I decide to move down, my guess is that it probably wont be for another 6 months or so.

Does anyone know a good place to work down there during the day? I have a degree in Econ and currently work at a bank up here in the bay. Id have to work to pay my bills and Im guessing Id have to be making around $15-16 /hr to pay bills and stuff.

Also a good area to live in thats affordable($800-$900/mo for 1 bdroom apt), but is within a 30 minute or less commute to Santa Monica? also close enough to the city life for parties and stuff.

How is Hollywood area?

TIA

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
you're essentially looking at a really small area if you want to be within 30 mins from Santa Monica, considering traffic is pretty bad around the 405 and 10 usually. It's either really expensive (Brentwood, Bel Air, Malibu, Bev Hills, West LA), or rather undesirable (Van Nuys, Sherman Oaks, Inglewood, Marina Del Rey, downtown LA). Hollywood and Koreatown seems to be either really ghetto or pretty expensive. I would prob think Culver City is your best bet.

Good luck, I'm sure you'll enjoy LA, it's just so more fun than NorCal imo.

·
Registered
872 Posts
I lived right on the border of Sherman Oaks and Van Nuys; it wasn't that bad although I think Sherman Oaks is a lot nicer than Van Nuys.

My rent was $833 at the time with ALL utilities included. But the complex was (and still is) poorly managed so I won't recommend it. Have a look through apartmentratings.com.

The nice thing about that location was easy access to both the 405 and the 101. If I wanted to go to Santa Monica or Venice I usually took the 101 to Topanga Canyon (twisties are fun too).