Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Im loosing hope, sleep and to be honest my mind too..
To be clear, im not a mechanic and bougth that 2003 passat 2.8 v6 4 motion.
Huge freaking mistake. I will never do that again . Thats about the worst car i ever owned .
I had it like for two months and already spent so much time and cash on it that its almost more than what i paid for it . I just dealt with p0010. P0011 and p0021 . After trying to replace both cct and breakkng both tensioning tools i figured i would change only the selenoids since i couldnt replace the cct on that day .like in a mini miracle the code didnt come back .. For 24h that is ... Today after driving like 50miles so happy i finally cleared those issues the check engine light came back on ,i thought the selenoids were not the issue and i really need to replace both ccts, but to my surpise the new codes are p0172 and p0175. The engine is running rich . The old codes are gone .. So i go online again and they say to clean the maf.. ( i changed it like a month ago and cleaned it again like two weeks ago so i dont think its the issue) but then the list of possible causes for those codes is so freaking long that i really dont know if i should dive into it again or just trash this piece of crap . Im european and almost ashamed of the quality of what became vw ...the car has 110k and i hoped it would serve us well for a while but its obviously shiesse!!!! Any intelligent and knowledgable person in here to help ?

·
PassatWorld Elder
8,244 Posts
For starters sorry to hear about your headache with this car. I've purchased 3 Passat's (same version as yours) that were in horrible shape mechanically. I've worked on these cars for a number of years, so I've got a slight advantage there. But none the less these cars were in horrible shape and would barely run. Matter of fact one of them didn't run at all.