Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I always see people on PW talking about track days and fun amateur events when everyone brings there car and you know.. drives around a race track haha. However I'm a complete noob to the autocross world and haven't been able to find much in CT in terms of if I wanted to just drive my DD to a track and really give it the boot. That pretty much sums it up, thanks!

:driving:

·
Registered
6,596 Posts
Assuming you're talking about hitting an actual road course, then you should look up HPDE or DE (high performance driving event or driver education). HPDE events are typically split between different run (skill) groups with the beginner groups requiring an instructor in the car. In between sessions you typically receive classroom training, which will go over the basic physics/dynamics of the car, learning the school line (fastest/safest way around the track), and general driving etiquette (rules on passing, what different flags mean, etc.)

There are some car clubs that offer DE, few that come to mind are BMW CCA and PCA (Porsche Club of America). Although you may not be a member, often times you can register as a non-member and pay slightly more. NASA is a motorsport club that's not specific to any car make. It's open to everyone and you have to pay annual membership.

Other clubs include: Chin Motorsports, SCCA, Trackdaze, and Hooked on Driving. In order to actually register for an event, look up the local website to see how they handle registration. Some do it directly on their website, others will direct you to www.motorsportreg.com, where you will have to create a new profile and add the club to your account.