Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Carrying out my first "major" DIY tomorrow morning. I'm sort of nervous and excited at the same time. I'd be replacing my valve cover gasket, and tensioner gasket. I have limited experience when it comes to working on cars, but I could write C++ codes all day like there's no tomorrow :banghead:

Anyways, I'm a tad bit nervous as to problems I might run into. Any advice? Also, I need to get a torque wrench from AutoZone tomorrow morning. Suggestions?

/rant. :salute:

·
Registered
486 Posts
I feel you, i need to change the TB, roller and tensioner from my car, and feel kinda nervous. I write code in C#all day long too...

eof

8,184 Posts
Quick question before I go get started. Where do I apply the sealant to? :confused:
On the corners of the gasket and a very light cover all the way around.....you really don't need or want a lot of sealant. I didn't put any on my Chain ten gasket. Just my valve cover gaskets. Take your time and make sure you don't spray a ton of cleaners into the area for anything will go down into your oil. I would also change the oil after your done.

·
Registered
6,269 Posts
I just did my VCG this past Sunday. It's really quite easy. The critical part is torquing the valve cover back on evenly. The torque spec is 7 ft/lbs. (I actually did 9 ft/lbs but I wouldnt go any tighter than that). It's NOT very tight, so be careful. First, make sure the gasket is properly seated, then make sure the cover is evenly seated, especially in back. Then make sure you tighten it down in a cross pattern, like you would when changing a tire. Start by going around at 4 or 5 ft lbs then one more pass at 7. I did the outside bolts first, then the inside bolts.