Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was hanging around an audio forum ( thanks QS) and i see people making there own comp sets but when i asked on what to do it was suggested that i dont do it so i was wondering why? If i use this eq and four of these mids why cant i just make some comp sets for my car not sure what tweeters yet

here is the post if you are curious http://www.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=114762

·
Registered
3,038 Posts
Well for one...you need crossovers, and making them isn't that easy for a novice...hell I've been doing this crap for 5-6 years, and I don't even want to mess with custom x-overs.

Unless of course you decide that you want to go completly active, which IMO is FAAAARRRR better than a passive setup. FYI, passive is what you'd be running if you bought a comp set...active is using an electronic crossover.

Whats the difference you might ask? Well, I'll tell you.

Passive uses capacitors and resistors to shape the crossover frequency, but the problem lies in that because you don't ever listen to one set tone (you're weird if you do) and the crossover point is totally deppendent on the frequency being applied, it's constantly changing, granted most normal people won't notice it but there is a difference.

Active, just to oppoiste and is made possible by the use of an electronic crossover, and is the easiet option if you plan to do a custom set of comps.

Also, IMO it is rather pointless to spend any money on the rear speakers...you can't really hear them anyway and IMO all it does is pull the soundstage back and make it sound crappy.

I'd get two of these and two of these then call it a day...well then you need a good active x-over, anything from Audiocontrol will be a good choice.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts