Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to upgrade the HU in my '03 non-Monsoon. I'd like to maintain stock appearance so am interested in Blaupunkts, but I'd like better SQ than the Heidelberg. I'm looking at the Miami CD72 from the Skyline series. This page has a link to a picture of the unit installed in a VW:

http://www.blaupunkt.co.uk/7641800310_main.asp

This unit is available for $289 from etronics.com. I'm a novice at car stereo and would appreciate help with a few questions:

1) Has anyone installed or heard this unit? Any comments? (BTW I'm not interested in mp3 or sat radio)

2) Is it safe to assume that like on other Blaupunkts, the connector on this HU will mate directly with the Passat radio connector, if I do the "pin swap" I have read about here?

3) Will the stock connector provide the illumination control function as on the OEM HU (HU lighting switching on/off with the car headlights) or will I need to run a separate wire to do this?

4) I would like to use the OEM DIN pocket with the "flocked" interior, even though its more expensive than aftermarket pockets. Where would I find the best price on the OEM pocket?

5) According to Crutchfield, the Miami ships with a "european to Motorola" antenna adapter. Is this the antenna adaptor I will need for the Passat installation? If not, what do I need? (I do want to get AM stations)

Well, that was more than a few questions. Thanks in advance for all help.

·
Registered
2,281 Posts
jpsmith said:
This unit is available for $289 from etronics.com. I'm a novice at car stereo and would appreciate help with a few questions:

1) Has anyone installed or heard this unit? Any comments? (BTW I'm not interested in mp3 or sat radio)

2) Is it safe to assume that like on other Blaupunkts, the connector on this HU will mate directly with the Passat radio connector, if I do the "pin swap" I have read about here?