Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Passat Wagon 2.0t
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

I am new to VW's and to this forum. I just bought a 2010 Passat Wagon 2.0T with 70k miles. CA car so no rust and in great shape, But...... the battery drains overnight. The owner told me about the problem so the car was priced accordingly.

With everything turned off, I attached a multimeter and it has a parasitic draw, so i pulled every fuse (one at a time) and watched the multimeter to see which fuse made a significant change in elec draw and the 60 amp fuse in the engine bay (see picture) is the only fuse that made any significant drop. This fuse isn't shown in the manual that came with the car. I have searched the net but i don't see any fuse blocks in the same order as mine? what does the fuse control?

Other issues that may or may not be related: -
1. The rear passenger door is dead (Jim?) the power window doesn't work and the power lock doesn't work.
2. The previous owner tried to get the draining issue diagnosed and someone said the radio was part of the issue so they disconnected the radio, the owner was told that it reduced the draw but it didn't cure the problem. They wanted another $700 to diagnose it so the guy sold the car to me.
3. The antenna on the roof was destroyed when the previous owner closed the garage door too soon and the antenna was a casualty. It now has a wire loop where the shark fin should be.

Hopefully someone can tell me what the fuse controls and point me in the right direction.
Thanks

·
Registered
26 Posts