Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I had the battery replaced in my B5.5 for the first time back in mid March at McDonald VW. I also had an electrical test done to make sure everything was okay, which it was. I'm studying abroad in Australia for the next four months, and I left my car with my parents in Southern California. They've been driving it a few times a week, and told me that the battery is dead. The charge doesn't last after they jump it. The local VW dealership there is a true stealership. I would imagine that the warranty on the battery should cover a replacement, but it just seems weird to have to replace the battery again six months later. Any suggestions or ideas on something else that could be wrong?

Thanks so much. I miss my car, but there are lots of VWs here. Hehehehe. :)

·
Registered
3,184 Posts
See my post on VW batteries are crap. My car is a little over 3 years old and I put my third one in about a month ago.

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
Check the water level. VW OEM batteries are not a maintenance free. Add enough *distilled* water to cover any exposed fins. Make sure to check all 6 cells.

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
hey fellow Denver B5'er.
I got mine replaced after 40,000 miles and 3 years.

The key to keep your battery charged after a jump start is to drive it for at least an hour so that it recharges itself and keeps it running better -- kind of like beaking it in.

If you need to get a new battery I suggest getting the Optima Red Top. It supposed to last twice as long, is less prone to vibration wear, and has a higher power start up. It's a little bit more money but it's worth it.
BTW, I have mixed reaction with McDonald, now I go to Mountain States Motors or Bolts (10th and Speer) if you prefer going to an independant garage.

check out our local b5 club: www.rmcb5.com (shameless plug)

·
Registered
223 Posts