Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I'm a long-time Passat driver starting from 98/99, currently based near Cambridge and putting 50k/year on a 2001.5 B5 Tip Sport Estate.

Plenty of posts on the main forums about tiptronic stuff but I haven't seen much on the europe side of things, and having read some of the threads on tip woes on the other side of the pond I'm beginning to wonder what was wrong with mine!

At 140K miles I suddenly got no drive; I could rev the engine in Drive or Tip mode and after 5 secs something would happen badly and the car would lurch forward; the dash display showed an inverse 12345 which I knew meant 'help'. The RAC took me to my main stealership (Vindis in Cambridge) who ummed and aahed, told me everything was knackered and took £2.5k off me for a new 'box. They also took over a week to fit it, but don't get me started on that place!

Now I wish I'd had a VAG-COM :)

Anyone else seen a similar failure and got it sorted without resorting to emptying piggy banks?

Also, now that it's dark constantly and I live in the sticks I'll be getting some Osram Silver Stars, thanks to posters who've done tutorials on fitting these things myself; 20 years ago I'd have a car in bits on the driveway to fix it, but these days it's a bit more complex....heh....

Doubly also, my wipers have developed a tendency to do 1.15 sweeps instead of the usual 1.0 I've come to expect :) In other words they don't park properly. Sometimes it's maybe 1.2 but it's always completely random, currently they're doing the expected 1.0 sweep per wipe. During the day it's not a problem but at night it is because the bloody things are noticeably in my view!

If weirdlittlebiscuit is still about, hello from b3ta!

cheers, sorry about a lengthy first post.....

·
I'm Urlik's Hero
9,783 Posts
Welcome!