Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All those with the AWE stage 2 clutch and LWFW. Does it chatter? I know this is some what of a repost but I did a search and found conflicting info..
Looking to buy on soon..

·
Registered
8,200 Posts
I went with the AWE Stage 2 clutch and OE flywheel. I'm having it replaced today after 30K miles. I'm hesitant to place the blame on AWE/South Bend, but I've been driving manual trannies for over 20 years, and I've never had a clutch go after so few miles before. I'm going back to OE this time around.

Kenny

·
Registered
460 Posts
I had to replace my clutch, pressure plate, and flywheel about 5 months ago. AWE was out of stock when mine went bad so I bought a South Bend stage 3 (?) clutch kit from a group buy here. When the shop tore into my clutch assembly the OEM flywheel was completely toasted as well, so they ordered a Fidanza lightweight single-mass flywheel (it was half the price of an OEM unit).

There was quite a bit of chatter for the first couple of months, but as it has broke in it's gotten better. In fact, it's nearly gone now. According to the folks I talked to, it helps to break it in easy. That is, for the first 500~1000 or so miles as little slip as possible, no full throttle runs, easy shifts with as much rev-matching as possible. No drag launches of racing and slamming it through gears. That was easy for me since it was in the middle of winter anyhow. :lol: YMMV, but it seems to be working for me - it feels and shifts great. You will get more noise, vibration, and chatter (somewhat obviously) because the single-mass flywheel doesn't have the damping effect of the dual-mass flywheel.

Hope that helps,
Don

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
so kenny your sayin lwfw are no good overall or just awe.....should I just OE flywheel and aftermarket clutch?

·
Registered
2,297 Posts