Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone who takes the time to read this post, I greatly appreciate it, and any input to help me get this thing up and running. I'm new to the Volkswagen world and I took on a pretty big challenge I recently bought a 2003 1.8T Passat pretty much in boxes and trunk engine code on the heads show AWM guy only wanted $200 so I couldn't refuse plus it is a super clean straight car. So I find the major problem the garage he had workin on it put the head gasket on upside down I corrected this so now I have the car starting and running. But I have to oil to the top end of the motor I have no idea where any of these hoses go and the crankcase has a major amount of blow back..... I'm mechanicly inclined but I'm no genius never worked on a vehicle with this many hoses I have a book on the car but nothing of any use so any point in the right direction a diagram of the vacuum hoses would help alot or experiences with these problems would help me alot. When I start the car I get a stop and loud beeping sounds

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
How many miles? the 1.8s have serious problems with sludge and general crap build up in their oil systems, especially if synthetic oil has not been used. Once this issue has been addressed the car will be fine and oil problems will be a thing of the past . First ,if possible get a Bentley manual, the "two" volume edition, same amount of content a single volume has, just not as unwieldy. Do not run with oil STOP on until oil issues are resolved. There are many tutorials on here for all your issues , welcome, be patient and methodical and you will have a great purchase.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3