Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
for someone who might want to learn SAP and get a job in it, is there a market for people who know SAP?

I have only a web-search knowledge of what SAP is; but a friend is considering moving into this field as a career change and I'd like to get some feedback on whether its a good career move or a waste of time. are there employers out there looking for people with this background? anyone know?

·
Lisa Simpson
15,043 Posts
We're converting this year and part of next. It's a huge ERP (enterprise resource planning) software package that requires huge data architecture design and lots of ability to stare at it without going blind. It requires massive customisation for every install, and when it works well, it is just the cat's pyjamas.

Quick, take a class. We ahve work for your sort over here!

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
I've been implementing SAP for about 7 years ... I'm assuming that your friend wants to be on the Basis/Technical Architecture side (given what I've picked up on your background). It is my own personal opinion that you can trasition fairly easily from a technical non-SAP background to a SAP support/implementation role. If your friend wants a more functional role, I think that is more difficult because you need to understand all the underlying configuration and integration between the different modules (and there a plenty of them).

I also think there is generally more demand for Tech Arch/Basis folks becuase those roels typically remain ongoing. As for the functional people, unless you are in some sort of support organization, your best bet is on a new implementation or consulting (like me).

·
Registered
428 Posts