Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. My front tires are wearing WAY too fast on the insides.... as if it had a ton of negative camber. The alignment is within specs on all four corners. Does anyone have any idea what could cause this tire wear? The only thing I could think of is maybe tie-rod ends or ball joints, but when I jack one side up and try turning the tire back and forth, I dont' really feel any play. I'm not an expert in doing that though so maybe it's there and I'm not seeing it. Also, I though that alignment shops check for slop in those components prior to adjusting it so I would think the shop would have told me if they found something like that.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Sucks having to buy new tires when the only part worn on the existing ones is on the very inside!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hey all. My front tires are wearing WAY too fast on the insides.... as if it had a ton of negative camber. The alignment is within specs on all four corners. Does anyone have any idea what could cause this tire wear? The only thing I could think of is maybe tie-rod ends or ball joints, but when I jack one side up and try turning the tire back and forth, I dont' really feel any play. I'm not an expert in doing that though so maybe it's there and I'm not seeing it. Also, I though that alignment shops check for slop in those components prior to adjusting it so I would think the shop would have told me if they found something like that.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Sucks having to buy new tires when the only part worn on the existing ones is on the very inside!
Never had this problem on my B5 and older VW. On Passat CC front camber from new was -2.2deg which is 1.2deg off the max. correct setting. Don't know- factory gave me wrong parts???