Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... I've been feeding my blue beauty 5w30 Mobile1 for about 7 years now every 6-7K miles.

I now live in a moderate climate (no cold and no extreme heat). My car IS leaking oil, which I don't intend to fix anytime soon (about 1qt a month).

I want to switch back to regular oil... or possibly blend... to save on $$$.

Is this a bad idea? I would be spending about 1/2 to a 1/3 of the amt of money.

Was hoping this would not increase the leaks or damage my 15 yr old reliable car.

Any input is appreciated. Thank ya...

·
Registered
12,080 Posts
On a V6 engine car, I suspect that quality conventional oil, changed according to schedule, would be just fine. After all, it survived the wrong weight of oil, left in too long, for all these years. (GRIN)

·
RETIRED Super Stealth Moderator
27,899 Posts
you might also try switching to a 5W40 weight oil - it may not leak as badly, and since you are now in SOCAL, you can handle the heavier oil.

·
Registered
5,280 Posts
On a V6 engine car, I suspect that quality conventional oil, changed according to schedule, would be just fine. After all, it survived the wrong weight of oil, left in too long, for all these years. (GRIN)
The '98 owner's manual has a chart that shows 5W-30 "energy-conserving" oil as acceptable to 90 degrees F air temp, with the caution to avoid high-speed driving in hot weather when using 5W-30. However, there isn't anything wrong with 6K~7K change intervals using Mobil-1, which is about what I do. I've now just turned 231K miles on my V6, always used 5W-30 no matter what (temps even over 110 degrees F), and have had absolutely no engine issues. When I last changed the VCCs, I paid extra attention to the cam lobes and lifter faces. I couldn't see or feel any wear, the surfaces were just polished to perfection.