Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a B5 noob so please bear with me. My wife drove her rear pads on '98 1.8T, (build 11/97, if that matters), down to the metal. ABS/E-brake light & sound came on intermittently before I changed the pads & rotors. Had some trouble turning the piston back in and I actually pulled it out to look for problems, but one wack with a hammer allowed it to screw on in. Used regular dot 3 fluid to top it off when I bled the rears. Lights/sounds still come on intermittently. Got Valvoline syn dot 3/4 fluid and bled the entire system; lights/sounds still come on.

I was told that I may have broken off an e-brake related part inside the cylinder, but I didn't see it when the piston was out. Also heard that the sensor may be obscured w/metal shavings but I don't think I have a sensor. Any advice from you pros? Gonna get a vag-com soon; will it tell me where the problem lies?

·
Registered
66 Posts
First step...pull the codes. The ABS/e-Brake warning may not have been related to the worn rear brakes (especailly as you and I both have 11/97 build date cars and they don't have brake pad wear sensors) but rather the infamous ABS Control Module failure. The wheel speed sensors (for ABS) will also throw codes, hopefully that is your issue as it's a quick and easy fix. The ABS control module is over $1K new and about $400 used, part cost only.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
:bow: Finally. Thank you. I've been praying that it's not the ABS Module, and that it was somehow related to the change. Is this something that a regular OBD II reader can pull? I'll be getting VAG-COM, but not for a couple weeks. :beer: 'preciate it!

·
Registered
66 Posts