Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It looks like I will need to get new tires soon (seems fast but the wear indicators say so). I'm currently running Michelin Pilot Sports (not the A/S) and I haven't had any problems with them considering the weather. I'm looking for something that wears well, isn't noisy, good wet/dry performance and looks mean (yes, stupid i know but I like it).

Any suggestions? I was looking at the tire rack yesterday but I was wondering what you all are running.

TIA.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I have Kumhos 711 225 45 17 I think it looks :thumbup: very smooth ,rides very quiet wears nicely on my :b5: at $71.00 a pop hard to beat.

ben

·
Registered
149 Posts
i might have to disagree on the road noise of the 711's...
and the treadwear isn't too great either. maybe i'm just an aggressive driver though.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
From what I've read in the past month or two, these are popular BFTB:

Sumitomo HTR+
Falken Ziex 512
Summer tire: Kumho 712

·
Registered
2,658 Posts
Sorry you wont get good wear with Ultra high performance tires. The compound is softer for grip and this leads to wear my friend.
But here are some tires much cheaper then those Pilots

Toyo's T1-S
Falken 451
Yoko ES 100
Nitto's 555
Sumitomo HTR

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
I had an entire set of bad Kumhos, with bubbles in the sidewalls. They tell me I hit something, but if thats the case then I guess normal bumps in the road are not for these tires. My uncle, a mechanical engineer at Bridgestone, helped me out with some better tires, and said as a general rule for them that if you hit anything hard enough to break the tread and destroy their tires, it had better destroy the wheels as well. These were 205/40/17 on a mk3 jetta.

I also had 225/45/17 on my passat last year, Dunlop Sp9000, they were pretty good for the money I felt.

·
Registered
4,555 Posts