Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm new to the VW world. So the other day at work I opened my rear door shut it and my door adjar light stayed on I lost control to all my windows, mirrors, steering wheel controls and sunroof. Threw some research I found it could be a cut wire. So I took the boot off between the door and pillar and a wire was cut so I spliced it back together and nothing still works. I check Every Single fuse and they are all good. Could it be one of the relays under the steering wheel? I've also pulled up my carpet and checked my comfort control module as well and everything seems in order there too. Any info would be appreciated the car still runs and drives fine.

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Can you scan the car for codes using the OBDII port? One possibility is the ABS electronics. They can flood the CAN bus with random garbage when they fail and all the functions you listed run on the CAN bus as well. You could try un-plugging the ABS electrical connector to see if it helps. Sort of a shot in the dark but it would take 2 minutes.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Can you scan the car for codes using the OBDII port? One possibility is the ABS electronics. They can flood the CAN bus with random garbage when they fail and all the functions you listed run on the CAN bus as well. You could try un-plugging the ABS electrical connector to see if it helps. Sort of a shot in the dark but it would take 2 minutes.
There are no codes but seeing ass my windows were working right before I opened and closed the back door and cut the door wire I'm assuming all my issues are related to the cut wire in the door and it probably grounded out during the process but no fuses are blow so I'm assuming a relay but relays are expensive so I can't replace all of them.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've also disconnected the battery for a little while as well. No change