Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Passat World and recently purchased a 2003 Passat W8 6-speed manual sedan. The car was originally an automatic, but the transmission died and the PO swapped a complete 60k mile engine/transmission from a totaled original 6-speed sedan (this swap included the full body and engine wiring harnesses). The chassis has 141,xxx on it now and it runs pretty well. The body is a solid 20-foot car with major clear-coat fade on the roof and regular dents/dings commensurate with the age of the car everywhere else. The interior is in pretty good shape with no rips/tears in the leather. I intend to save the car and keep it healthy while slowly cleaning up the body and making minor modifications (such as suspension and brakes, no power-train) during my ownership. It does have a custom exhaust (on it when I bought) consisting of a Magnaflow center 2-in/2-out resonator and V-Force Mufflers with nice rolled/dual-walled tips out back. The car sounds amazing with a low-speed burble and top-end wail. It's easy to overlook all of the other faults of the car with such an amazing sound coming from the exhaust.

I'm looking for assistance regarding fault P1151 - 35-10- System too lean - intermittent. It appears to be a purge-valve/carbon canister related issue since I also smell fuel for a day or two after filling up. The car runs fine and pulls hard to red-line. It does have a slight extended crank while warm after only being shut-off for a few minutes... such as when grabbing a cup of coffee. Has anyone dealt with this fault?

·
in dire need of an organic chemistry lesson
2,290 Posts
You can change the purge valve which is near the air filter housing. But I recommend to spend a bit more and buy an OEM rather than cheap Chinese ones on eBay.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3