Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody, I'm new to this thread. I just purchased a 2003 VW Passat GLX 4dr sedan V6 2.8L. It was running perfectly fine the first month. But now, it won't start! I thought it was the battery so I got it recharged. The problem still exist. I put the key in, all the lights come on, but when I turn it...nothing happens...not even a revving noise! I saw somewhere online that it might be a fuse, was told to check #14 and #6. I tested those 2 with a multimeter and they seem to be fine. Could it be the starter??? How would I test that. THANKS IN ADVANCE!
Lou

·
in dire need of an organic chemistry lesson
2,409 Posts
I could indeed be a dead starter. Or a dead Crank Position Sensor. You need to scan the car and see if you get any specific fault codes.

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
Do you hear a click when you turn the key? Usually, there is an audible click that is the relay closing on the starter to connect it to the battery. If you hear the click but the engine doesn't turn, either the starter is bad, the engine is seized or the battery wiring is bad. If there is no click, it could be something like fuse #14 (are you sure it's OK?) or the parking switch disconnect. Ie, for an automatic, the shifter needs to be in P (or possibly N) or the car won't engage the starter. For a manual trans, the clutch must be depressed.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for all the info Gang! Yeah, it doesn't do anything, no clicking noise...no revving...nothing! I did the test on fuse #14, even switched it out....still nothing. I'm gonna start with crank position sensor. Will get back y'all after that.
Peace,
Lou

·
Registered
1,049 Posts