Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi so i have had my passat 4yrs and 3 out of the 4 yrs I drove it.so it sat for a yr because the pick up screen was clogged so i payed $1,000 to have it fixed but the auto mechanic didnt bother to tell me that the coolant flang needed to be done as well so that would be another $618.00.so i went and bought the parts and the coolant and i started to work on it but im no mechanic.ive put the replaced the coolant senor and thats about it.im not scared of learning but i am scared of fucking up my car.any ideas?

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
The coolant flange on a 1.8t is notoriously fiddly since it's way in the back of the engine bay and access is limited. It just bolts on but getting to some of the bolts is difficult. Also, there are some o-rings that can stick in place that need to be replaced and since everything has to be done by feel those can cause issues if you miss one. If you are limber and patient I'm sure you can replace the flange. Be careful of all the plastic bits back there are they can get brittle and break. Read up on the procedure here first and be sure you have a day or two of free time and all the parts handy before starting. If you get stuck, you can always ask here for advice but once the coolant lines are open you can't drive the car until the job is done.

·
Registered
12,080 Posts
If you haven't yet purchased a replacement flange, you may want to consider getting a genuine VW part. Aftermarket parts can sometimes be problematic, but on this one, replacements seem particularly leak-prone.

·
in dire need of an organic chemistry lesson
2,400 Posts
Regardless of either you or someone else would change the flange I strongly recommend that you get an aluminum one not the plastic. Given changing the flange is not an easy task, the last thing you want to happen is that it leaks again (which happened to me and others).