Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

· Registered
03 GLS 1.8t, 03 Golf 2.slow
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, about a year ago, I repaired my head (valves, timing belt, water pump, tensioner, etc.)

Everything went perfect, and it runs great. However, it doesn't always start on the first try. Sometimes two tries, sometimes seven. Cranks, just doesn't fire. And when it does start and is at idle, the idle jumps from 7-800, up and down. I also get a p0340 code all the time (camshaft timing sensor). I already changed the sensor with a brand new one, and checked the wiring. All looks good.

Again, she runs great, but something is off.

I just checked my timing marks on the cam and crank pulley. It's perfect. Took the valve cover off, and the marks on the cams versus the journal arrows look almost perfect, but I can't tell if I have sixteen teeth on the chain or not. I'm not an expert at that. Anyone know if that would be the problem?

· PassatWorld Elder
8,385 Posts
Looks to me like the intake cam is retarded by one roller. Meaning there is 15 rollers not 16.
It's hard to say for certain because the picture is slightly distorted.
You need to get a picture directly in line of the camshaft, of both intake and exhaust.

Reactions: Tomvw

· Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's weird. I'm pretty sure I took both cams out with the chain still on, then put it back in without removing anything. I can't remember for sure. Anyway, that was before I knew about the 16 rollers on the cam chain. Did it better on the A4 I worked on.

Here's some better pictures... I hope.

· PassatWorld Elder
28,024 Posts
Your can chain tensioner is not extended at the top for the picture, so it looks like it's only slightly off, but it is off 1 tooth. Try rotating the engine clockwise and see if the CCT moves up and down. If it does not, the CCT is faulty and needs to be replaced. After 2 full turns, the cam mark on the exhaust cam should line up.

· Registered