slave & master cylinder
+ Reply to Thread
    Neutral

slave & master cylinder

Ok so I think I need to replace either my slave or master cylinder on my 2000 passat. The clutch is kinda sticky and doesn't come back right away after depressing it. Gears work fine.

Is there an easy way to know which one to replace? Also I've been able to locate the slave cylinder, but where is the master cylinder? With each one costing around $100 I'd rather not replace both if I don't have to.... input on that from anyone?

I'm a bit of a newb but I think I can get this done with a bit of effort and some sage advice..

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

3rd Gear
    look for your brake fluid reservoir & the metal part on the bottom with the metal lines coming out of it is the master cyl -look up a picture of the master cyl & ull see

- also search on here about bleeding your slave cyl. I had a similar problem when my clutch was acting up, bleed the slave cyl & its good for now. Youll need two people to do this.

GL!

Neutral
    so I bled the slave cylinder and that fixed the original problem. Now I'm thinking my clutch is going though. The clutch isn't perfect when pushing it down but after bleeding it seems to work. The clutch is now slipping in 3rd and 4th once it hits about 3k rpms.

I'm also getting that smell, the clutch burning smell.

Does all this seem to suggest I need to replace my clutch cylinders & the clutch!?

Thanks for your reply btw

Neutral