2001 V6 alternator removal
+ Reply to Thread
    Neutral

2001 V6 alternator removal

Greetings forumites. Newbie here but I've been lurking and reading loads of good info. Thanks for all the help already. I've searched this topic here but cant find exactly what I'm looking for soooo..

Here's the scoop . Replacing alternator on 2001 V6 , 5 speed passat wagon.
    Carrier is disconnected and moved forward but still attatched to vehicle via radiator hoses ect.
    Serpetine belt is off.
    All bolts, Except for one rear side mounted( which I can't seem to reach) , removed on alternator. Is this back pivot bolt a 10mm allen and how in the world to you get to it?
    Once Alt. is disconnected, what is the method to get this beast out? Should i go ahead and completely remove the carrier or can I bring the Alt. out forward around the AC lines and behind radiator?
    I don't have a manual for vehicle so if anyone has scanned pages that would be HUGE!!
    Please let me know if you need more info , ect.
    Love this forum and the car. Thanks a million..
    david lee

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

Neutral
    Help anyone??
    Thanks again.
    d

Neutral
    Last shameless bump here.
    Where is the love guys?
    Help?
    DId I offend someone with the question?
    Let me know
    d

Loose female member
    I think it's the expression 'Formites'
    You must be a Brit, it's a strange term over this way.
    Anyways, sorry to hear about your misfortune.
    I have never myself or even recalled on this site of anyone having to replace the Alternator. All the same, you should have some sort of manual as a guide, be it the Bently or even a Hayes at a stretch.
    I will have to go check my own copy to find out.

The only bolts I see are the M8 X 75mm and the M10X 125 mm.
    The directions in the manual are pretty vague.