Running Regular Unleaded in my Passat…
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
    1st Gear

Running Regular Unleaded in my Passat…

As some of you know, we went though a huge shortage of gas here in the Phoenix area. I’ve been running regular unleaded in my Passat for almost a week and a half. Seems like super is back in stock and I’m going to be putting that back in. Is there anything I should be worried about or will the Passat be fine. I went though about 3 tanks of regular. Other than the poor gas mpg I’ve seen, what else should I look for?

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

6th Gear
    You shouldn't have to do anything or worry about anything. It'll be fine.

Regards,

Kenny

1st Gear
    Figured as much, but can't hurt to ask.

Neutral
    I've been running regular for at leat 3 years, milage is still good and no problems, although acceleration is a bit sluggish.

Mike

1st Gear
    when running reg in my car had nasty pinging. Probably does not help I have a 7% hill ~3 miles long. Midgrade does not ping so I use that. FWIW: ~20 cents gal more ~ 60 fillups /yr, ~14 gal fillup $168 more a year in gas. Not that big of a deal to use premium vs regular. However I am a slight cheap bastard so I use midgrade.

1st Gear
    Well it sounds like I have nothing to worry about. I'm finally seeing gas moving in to the valley, but nothing less than $2.50 a gallon. Oh well, I didn't want a new computer this year anyway. Seems like diesel is available everywhere and the price is not as high as regular gas. So when can I expect a TDI Passat?

4th Gear
    So when can I expect a TDI Passat?
    In the United States? Isn't that one of the signs of the Apocalypse?

ACE
    3rd Gear