2007 Passat - Rear Brakes - DIY with VAGCOM - With PICS!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: 2007 Passat - Rear Brakes - DIY with VAGCOM - With PICS!

Neutral

Post Step By Step DIY - Rear Brakes (Pads + Rotors) w/ EPB - VAGCOM - 2007 Passat

Hello All. I'm new to the forum and love this website. It is a valuable resource for all things B6 Passat related. I've recently completed replacing the rear brakes on my 2007 VW Passat 2.0T Wolfsburg Edition using the VAGCOM cable and I thought I would post a How-To on the P.W. site.

I took a look at dhambrick's writeup on vwvortex.com and pretty much followed those steps. My write up covers that plus how to properly change out the rotors as well. Although I'm new to the Passat community, I'm no stranger to turning wrenches and learning how to use new tools along the way. With that in mind - this is how I did my brakes - each person is different in their skill sets when it comes to working on these cars. And as always - when in doubt - ask the forum! Enjoy.

Step By Step - DIY - Rear Brakes (Pads + Rotors) w/ Electronic Parking Brake - VAGCOM.

Here are the tools needed for the job:

- Jack w/ stands
    - 3/8 Ratchet w/ 13mm Socket + extensions
    - T30 Torx Socket
    - Needle Nose Vice Grip
    - 1/2" Breaker Bar w/ 17mm Socket
    - Triple Square MT14 Socket
    (I purchased a set on ebay for $26 - Titan 16138 9 Piece 3/8" Drive Stubby Triple Square Hex Bit Socket Set)
    - Large C-Clamp
    - 90 Degree Pick
    - Cordless Drill
    - BFH (just in case)
    - (2) 3M Scotch-Brite ROLOC Brake Rotor Surfacing Discs
    - Caliper Grease
    - (2) Cans of Brake Cleaner Spray
    - Battery Charger
    - VAGCOM Cable from Ross-Tech. I ordered the VCDS Micro-CAN cable. It works on all 2005.5+ Passats. Trust me - it's WELL worth the $249 investment.
    - Download latest VCDS Software + Manual from the Ross-Tech website
    - Brake Pads - Wagner Thermo-Quiet Ceramic - #PD1108 - (O'Reilly's)