Trunk lid release button stopped working 2002 B5.5 V6 FWD GLX Sedan
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
    Neutral

Trunk lid release button stopped working 2002 B5.5 V6 FWD GLX Sedan

Hello PassatWorld!

I've got a strange electrical problem here so hopefully we can figure this one out together. I'm sure other people have had this trunk failure before.

Issue:
    The trunk release button (down by gas tank button on driver side) suddenly stopped working a couple weeks ago.
    This button was the only way that I could open the trunk without going in through the backseat to the emergency release handle.
    The button has worked every time for over 4 years (since I bought the car).
    I do not have a remote to test with, nor do I have a master key (HAA) that will open the trunk.

Keys and Remotes:

I only have the valet key (NAA) for my vehicle (only opens driver door and starts car; doesn't open passenger door or trunk, doesn't lock/unlock valet trunk lock)
    ** I do not have a remote for the vehicle.... ** (New switchblade key and remote are on order from sidewinderkey.com)

Diagnostic Tools:
    Klien Digital Multimeter (Auto VDC)
    12VDC Power Supply (battery charger set to 2A)

Repair Attempts:

I have replaced the physical trunk release button, that sits down by the gas button FD side (purchased from VW dealership ~ $70 bucks).
    This did not have any effect on problem.

I then removed the trunk lid liner to monitor the two conductor (solid brown & solid blue ) connector to the trunk latch actuator or whatever it's called, P# 3B5 827 061C.

The following tests were done while the car was running, with the trunk open, and with the trunk latch manually pushed closed (locked state as if trunk was closed). Tests always begin with the aforementioned conditions.
    1) I activate the trunk release button: no change in VDC (stays at 1mV ie no draw,) trunk doesn't open.