What is your choice filter?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Neutral

What is your choice filter?

Newbie here. Ive been going nut's looking for filters on my car. My first spot was Wally-Mart because of their prices on oil. On prior cars, It's been easy finding most everything Ive ever needed to do a basic oil change. But now I have a Passat. I cant find anything listed in wally-marts filter application index. After doing some internet googling I found this forum had covered some filters that fit but they address some concerns. Check it out. Give me some ideas on what choice filter I should choose. I have a 99 Passat 1.8L AHA engine. I'll be filling her up on mobil 1 synthetic 10W40 Hight Mileage Check this link out. VW/AUDI 1.8T OIL FILTER SELECTION FOR TREATMENTS - Questions & Answers I did find this page interesting, FL400S, FL1A WIX 51516, Mobil 1 M-301, and FRAM XTENDED GUARD XG8A are mentioned. They talked about oil psid filter specs on the the choice filters. They also list concerns about an internal mesh reinforced media that the fram XG features that would hold the internal filter media together under pressure. The Ford filter features a by-pass valve. What dose all this mean? What is the best filter to get? If all these fit why doesn't Wally-Mart list my car in the application listing? As you can see in the picture below years 1999, 2000 these are the only cars listed

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

Neutral
    Here is a thread I found here on our forum, one guy wrote a letter to mobil in reference to what Mobil oil filter to use. Below is a copy and paste from this thread. You can see the entire thread using this link http://www.passatworld.com/forums/42...ter-b5-v6.html

bdjones72

I sent Mobiloil and e-mail regarding this topic and this was their response:

Dear Sir,