Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

P0491 & P0492 (Secondary Air Injection System)

108K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  scotts13 
#1 ·
Hello.

I'm a noob, so i might not know the right terminology but, i am having a bit of a problem with my 2002 V6 Passat. I have tried search, but it seems everyone is getting different answers.

It all starts with the Check Engine Light coming on, Error Code P0491 and P0492. Since i work at Circuit City, i figured that there was just a faulty sensor and had one of the guys in the shop clear the error. I drove about five to six thousand miles, and bam it came back on again. So, again i had the guys clear the code for me.

The next day, the light came back on again, it was the same code. I decided to take the vehicle to VW to see what was wrong.

This is what the advisor put on the receipt:
"Customer states combo values faulty bank 1-2/ SOP/Install Faulty Combi valves for secondary air INJ. SYS. Replaced both valves then ran basic settings and found the Vac. Solenoid not working properly. Replaced VAC. SOL. Then ran basic set. Again vehicle is now operation as designed."

So since I'm just a young kid and know nothing about cars really, I whipped the credit card out and bought some valves, some solenoid, and some tubes.

$600.00 later hoping the issue has been fixed, in the restored state that VW is the best, and bam, the next day the light came back on again...same error codes P0491 and P0492.

Oddly, i have read that the secondary air system helps the car start (cold) and only runs for like ninety seconds, this error pops up usually when the AC is running in the car, and twenty minutes later....is that usual for error codes just to pop up randomly?

I know the error codes stand for:

P0491 Secondary Air Injection System Insufficient Flow (Bank 1)
P0492 Secondary Air Injection System Insufficient Flow (Bank 2)