how to change air filter???
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Neutral

how to change air filter???

hi, im pretty new to this, can someone provide a tutorial to me for this?
    1. where is the filter located (B5)
    2. where can i buy a new air filter, (CanadianTire?)
    3. how to install it??

thanks!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

4th Gear
    The air filter is inside a black plastic box to the right of the engine (your left as you face the front of the car). This box is clever hidden below a large flat black plastic cover and further obstructed by the intake air duct. Fortunately, both of these are very easy to remove. The top of the air box is secured by 4 small metal clips, but you also need to disconnect some of the associated plumbing to get the top off. You will also need to remove the metal heat shield (four screws) which protects the box from exhaust heat. When you get the thing apart, be sure to remove and wash out the metal slush screen and air dry it before reassembling.

I bought a Purolator paper replacement air filter element at AutoZone for about $15, but there are several other options available.

4th Gear
    k AND N...nuff said...it will save you money in the long run...better throttle response...
    just oil and clean after 40-50k...

Neutral
    Quote Originally Posted by John_E