Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

Replace brake pads

53K views 35 replies 15 participants last post by  VAGguy 
#1 ·
I am a noob planning to replace brake pads on my wife's 2003 Passat. I have been trying to gather parts and supplies needed based on this article:
http://www.passatworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=179518
I got the brake pads today. However, I just noticed that all the images are gone from the "how-to" article linked above. I searched the forums, but could not find another article with pictures for replacing the brake pads. I will be replacing the brake pads on *any* car for the first time and the pictures will surely help.

I tried sending the author of that post a message, but the forum won't let me, because I have not yet posted 5 posts. Also, the article is not accepting any new replies.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
Note that it is best to replace rotors and pads at the same time, or at least have the old rotors turned if possible. Putting new pads on old rotors that have not been turned will typically wear the pads out faster and can cause the pads not to bed properly.

As far as the DIY goes, the fronts are fairly straight forward. The rears do require a special tool to compress / turn the piston at the same time. We do have the tool available, but it can often times be rented at a local auto parts store as well. You should be able to follow any brake DIY for a Mk4, Mk5, B4 Passat, B5 A4, etc... they are all extremely similar and the process is near identical.

#4 ·
Note that it is best to replace rotors and pads at the same time, or at least have the old rotors turned if possible. Putting new pads on old rotors that have not been turned will typically wear the pads out faster and can cause the pads not to bed properly.
Thanks a lot for the info! How do I get the old rotors "turned"? Do you think it will be acceptable if I just replace the pads this time, and do both rotors and pads the next time?

#3 ·
#5 ·