Transmission Control Module (TCM) Replacement
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Neutral

Transmission Control Module (TCM) Replacement

I've been finding great information on this forum for a few years, but now I need some help. I know many of you are very knowledgeable and I'm sure can provide me with the the info I need.

Recently, my wife's car (2002 1.8T) suffered a water intrusion from clogged sunroof drains (not uncommon from what I've read). Of course this has led to various malfunctions, warning lights, and transmission locking into emergency mode while driving down the road. We took the car to VW and they have traced the problem to the TCM. I was informed this will be a $1550 repair. Although I think this is a horrible design flaw with the car not to mention there's nothing written in the manual about routine maintenance of these drains, I don't want to try to fight this with VW. We need her car operational asap and don't want to go through another battle (In 2006, we had to have the engine replaced due to a sludge build up) with them.

I've decided to take it upon myself to try to repair this on my own. I'm not the most savy mechanical person but I have common sense and can follow directions. I located and purchased a used TCM for $300. I know where the TCM is located in the car and more or less how it's installed. What I need to know is if the module is "plug and play". In other words, can I unhook the water logged one and plug this one right in and be ready to drive? Or does it need electronic adjustments and settings? I've read many of you talk about using the vag-com which I don't have nor be able to purchase. Is there anything important or special I need to know about replacing this module.

I would truly appreciate help, advise, or knowledge about this that any of you could share with me. Thank you!

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

1st Gear