1998 Passat Rear Brakes
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
    Neutral

1998 Passat Rear Brakes

I'm trying to change the pads and rotors on my 1998 passat for the first time, and am looking for some step by step guidence on procedure. I found a tread w/ pictures and proper procedure, but it was for front brakes. Any advise?
    Last edited by Christopher Haltigan; 10-29-2008 at 07:32 AM. Reason: spelling

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

Lefties have rights, too!
    Brake pad and rotor replacement

Next time check out the info forum first. The rear write up is at the end of this post above. Rent or buy the caliper tool.

5th Gear
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Parish View Post
    Brake pad and rotor replacement

Next time check out the info forum first. The rear write up is at the end of this post above. Rent or buy or make the caliper tool.
    Fixed!

Neutral
    Thanks Tom. I'm new to this so I appreciate the information.

Neutral
    I have the assembly apart and the piston (rear passanger side) looks very worn ( bare metal ). Should I change the piston assembly?

5th Gear
    Do you have any way to post a pic of what "very worn" looks like?

Neutral
    As it turns out, believe it or not, I was missing the inside brake pad all together! The piston was riding the back of the rotor with nothing in between. so consequently, it chewed the piston up pretty good. Obviously I need to change the rotor ( I'll do both sides ), but I think I can file the face of the piston down to acceptable shape. It really isn't that bad. Having a break pad between the piston and rotor should make a world of difference. JEEZ, DO YOU THINK?!!!!

5th Gear
    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher Haltigan View Post