turbo problems with 1.8t
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
    Neutral

turbo problems with 1.8t

Hi, I am new to the scene and I have had my passat for a short while. I've had the car and believe that the power is not up to par. The car struggles up hills and lacks any torque. I commonly have to downshift sometimes to third gear up less than steep hills on the interstate. The car has little power to pull off from a stand still as well. I thought it was the turbo so I have tried to fix the most common problems associated with the turbo like replacing the n75 valve as well as replacing the diverter valve all to no avail. I dont know how the car should perform, but I think it should perform better than it does now. It is stock with only 85,000 miles. I also noticed that it really does not have any noticable turbo noise all though I know these engines run at little boost. I dont think the turbo is completley non operational or else the car would be practically non drivable. One last thing, the car has displayed a engine code. I cant quite remember verbatim but I believe it was turbo boost flucuation sporatic overboost or something of that sort. It seems quite the contrary considering the car has little power. Please help!!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

1st Gear
    On my aeb the valve inside the exhaust sided turbine aka the waste gate is broken off...

So I pretty much get no boost and my cars is pathetically weak until about 5k rpm when the turbo prolly pushes a psi or two...

I already got a good K03 that hopefully will be in this upcoming week or so~

But before I put it in I already bought a boost gauge so I want to put that on to see what and when im actually boosting.

Neutral
    This sounds alot like my problem, do you think that even though I replaced the diverter valve the waste gate on the turbo could be broken?

4th Gear