B5 wagon 2.6l V6 FWD - PRNDL all lit up in red on dash!!
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
    1st Gear

the car races a bit from 1st to 2nd gear and slips occasionally when decelerating from 3rd to 2nd. twice i've been told that there is an "improper or irregular" voltage problem. i have no code to report (yet)

i've read up on limp mode and my car seems to operate fine (maybe sluggish?) using the shifter normally and using the tip.

i've read up on the seleniods and the problems that can happen there as well as an adjustment in the shifter itself?

i've read up on the TCU and its problems when water damaged, etc.

i'm not a mechanic and i want to try and do as much as possible before wheeling it in to the indy. i guess i'm looking to add a ground to the transmission. is there a fairly easy way to do this and use existing holes/bolts and some cable to get this done? i'm also hoping to clear the all red PRNDL and make this irregular shifting between 1st and 2nd go way. i apologize in advance if this isn't enough to diagnose. i'm just a bit overwhelmed by the garden variety of things that relate to these symptoms and want to go about it the right way.
    the last four things done to car: plugs, front brakes, new battery, rebuilt ABS
    all input and help is welcome!

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

6th Gear
    Quote Originally Posted by proffx View Post
    That display is a specific signal that the transmission itself is in "limp mode"; it's detected an error condition (either mechanical or electrical) and is limiting its operation in an effort to prevent damage.

The only remedies available to the average home mechanic are to examine the connections to the TCM for corrosion, and to check the transmission fluid level. But I would first get the car scanned for error codes, with a scan tool capable of reading all the VW-specific information - the dealer computer, or VAG.COM.