Problem with W8?
NEWS

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Neural

Problem with W8?

I found a 64k mile 2002 Passat W8 4motion, fully loaded near me for a great price. My question is what are the major drawbacks and/or problems that the owners of W8's have experienced? I have heard that these motors are no good, but I figured I would find out from you guys (the source, so to speak). Should I buy it or stick with a 1.8T? Or a V6? Also, anyone know what it is worth?

2. Remove Advertisements
    VW Passat Forum
    Advertisements

3rd Gear
    From what I've read. V6 is most reliable, followed by 1.8T and last is W8. as far as i remember there was something wrong with cam lifters, plus it's overly complex to work on.

PW gurus can enlighten you on this subject. im just a noob

Super (Charged) Moderator, Grinding Gears...gone fishing! ScottPassat2.8's Avatar
    there is a google search for passatworld on the bottom of the page, try it..lots of answers
    Quick Link MASTER at your service.Forum Moderator.

Neutral
    Quote Originally Posted by beaumisbro View Post
    From what I've read. V6 is most reliable, followed by 1.8T and last is W8. as far as i remember there was something wrong with cam lifters, plus it's overly complex to work on.

PW gurus can enlighten you on this subject. im just a noob
    As far as this goes I would have to disagree. I know I'm bias becuase of owning a W8 but this is not entirely true. I've worked on and/or with VW-Audi most of my life. While yes the W8 is absurdly complex to work on, it is by no means the LEAST reliable. The 2.8s from what I remember were very very prone to head gasket failure, while the 1.8t always has that sludge issue lingering over its head.